• Carson Now on Facebook
  • Follow Carson Now on Twitter
  • Follow Carson Now by RSS
  • Follow Carson Now by Email

Opinion

National Constitution Day celebrates signing of historic U.S. document

September 17 is national Constitution Day. National Constitution Day celebrates the Constitution of the United States of America, which was signed on September 17, 1787.

The Constitution of the United States of America has survived longer than any other country’s constitution. The Constitution was established “in order to form a more perfect Union,” and, among other things “establish Justice.” Article III of the Constitution created the judicial department, and established the right of persons charged with a crime to be tried by a jury.

Let's build a downtown Carson City for future generations

Remember when You were Young
Remember when You had Hopes and Dreams
Remember when You were Optimistic and People were Friendly
Remember when We were a downtown community with 2 lanes, Parking and Shopping

The Young need the Elders for their Wisdom and Guidance, so they can learn from our mistakes.
The Elders need the Young for their Optimism, Hope, and Enthusiasm, to keep them young at heart.
I am a third-generation Carsonite. I remember this city in the 60’s and 70’s. Recently, a gentleman told me this is a senior community, a thought shared by many.

Attract tourist dollars to Nevada by using Highway 95

As an incentive for Telsa and other companies to build in the Reno – Tahoe Industrial Center on USA Parkway and benefit Nevada, Interstate 11 should be built from Yerrington to tie into the Reno – Tahoe Industrial Center and to I-80. This should be presented to Telsa now.

Interstate 11 should be built parallel to US Highway 95 from Las Vegas to Tonapah on a straight line from Tonaph to Yerrington. Also I- 580 should be extended from Carson City to Yerrington which would give a direct route to Carson City and Reno.

Guinn Center provides Tesla incentives report for Nevada special legislative session

The Nevada Legislature will be considering an unprecedented $1.3 billion tax incentive package for Tesla Motors this week. To focus attention on issues legislators should take into account while reviewing this proposal, the Guinn Center for Policy Priorities has released Development Incentives: A Guide for Nevada Legislators.

The Common Core Way: civics lesson masquerading as mathematics

A recent bruhaha over Common Core math was triggered by an examples from the THIRD grade, in Washoe county, in which a “math” lesson and a “math” problem was centered on full length study of the “Rights of Man” from the French revolution, “Universal Declaration on Human Rights,” and the children’s version, both from the UN. The only excuse for any math in this lengthy lesson was that at one point they asked how much it would cost to do a project to illustrate something in these documents.

Tesla Freebies

The choice in the Tesla deal is not between socking the corporation with higher or lower taxes; the choice is between getting nothing from them if the don't come, or getting all the increased sales tax revenue as their employees spend their money HERE. THAT is a win for everybody.

But conventional thinking always degenerates into the predatory socialist politics of greed, and sees everything only in terms of windfalls, favors or corruption. What's the loot, who gets what, who wins, who loses.

More Tesla good news and bad news

The uploaded PDF file is a simplified analysis of the Tesla deal driven by Hennessey's previous opinion posting.

Tesla Motors -- Good News Is... Bad News?

The plain news is that Tesla motors sealed a deal with Nevada to locate a major new plant in Reno. You'd think that would be good news, with major investment and thousands of permanent jobs for the area. People should be cheering. But it comes in exchange for major tax breaks. That’s the bad news. So, instead of cheering, some people are turning on the Governor and others. Some, like the Nevada Policy Research Institute (NPRI) are raising policy, legal and constitutional issues.

N Edmonds Dr and Woodside Dr. Becoming a war Zone?

Carsonnow.org published a story a few days ago about 4 felony arrests for a shooting on N Edmonds Drive in Carson City. Now I am hearing stories from residents of Woodside Drive just behind N Edmonds of reataliation for the arrests. They claim they are going after Rats on N Edmonds.
When is this going to stop people? You are turning Carson City into a war zone. People are going to get hurt or killed.

Will this be a historic photo in your lifetime? Open Space Advisory Committee Master Plan Review tonight

Event Date: 
August 18, 2014 - 3:00pm

Have your voice heard at this public meeting regarding you, your family and future generations access and use of the Open Spaces purchased with public dollars or transferred by BLM to the people of Carson City.

Monday, August 18 the Carson City Open Space Advisory Committee will be holding an Open House and Open Space Meeting at the Community Center to address the future of the Carson River corridor properties and approve the rules and regulations for proposed management plan for use and access of the Open Space properties.

Protect your accessory roads and access to the places that make Carson City great

Event Date: 
August 18, 2014 (All day)

Monday, August 18 the Carson City Open Space Advisory Committee will be holding an Open House and Open Space Meeting at the Community Center to address the future of the Carson River corridor properties and approve the rules and regulations for proposed management plan for use and access of the Open Space properties.

Off-Road Vehicle Contribute to Flood Damage in One Johnson Lane Neighborhood

A mountain is being destroyed, and the neighborhood below it is being polluted by off-road vehicles in Douglas County.
Hot Springs Mountain is on BLM land, and it towers right above the neighborhood known as Johnson Lane.
The mountain has been cut up by a web of trails created by off-road vehicles.
Heavy use of the trails pulverizes the soil and the trails become loose and unable to support even foot traffic yet alone the vehicle traffic. The off-road operators then cut new (bypass) trails. Ultimately the new trails get pulverized and the process starts again.

Column: 72 percent of Obamacare insurance recipients may not get subsidies

Now this is news. The Washington, D.C. Circuit Court’s recent ruling against the IRS may spell the end of Individual Mandates for Health Insurance (and individual penalties for not having qualified health insurance) and the Employer Mandates for companies with over 50 employees (and the corresponding penalties for not complying)…IF a state did NOT set up a State Health Exchange.

If Our Founding Fathers Were Alive Today…

Event Date: 
August 11, 2014 (All day)

If Our Founding Fathers Were Alive Today…

“If the Founding Fathers were alive to today they would”… (Insert your non-substantiated belief here: ______________ to complete your specious argument.)

“The Founding Fathers believed…” (Insert what your non-substantiated belief here: ________as to what the Founding Fathers’ believed to prove your specious argument.)

Deep Thoughts, Cheap Shots & Bonbons

I was not the first to share the news of the Hyatt Hotel project; as it was already alluded to by the Northern Nevada Development Association on its website. In addition to numerous rumors that ran rampant throughout the community.

On Myths and Fairy Tales: The Sad State of Political Knowledge

Recently, right here in Carson City, I was asked to sign a “Petition to Impeach President Obama”. I was told to “impeach” meant to remove a sitting President from office and that by merely signing this petition, President Obama and his wife Michelle, would be leaving the White House because “the people have spoken.”

SOS, Save Our Sassafras

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Aug 10 2014 .
August 9, 2014 (All day)
Event Date: 
August 10, 2014 (All day)

Something amazing is happening in our Carson City! Once again our community is rising up to help a neighbor in need.
As many of you may have heard a favorite, downtown restaurant, Sassafras is being forced to relocate.
The word spread throughout our community and one question was being asked “how can we help”
I had a chance to attend a meeting of volunteers from the community to help organize a benefit to help save our Sassafras. I then asked Owner, Scott Owen Doerr, what he wanted people to know?
This is what he had to say.

Summer Sky

Photo submitted by Carson Now reader Monica Ward.

Barbecue Ribs and Christianity On A Lazy Summer Day

It started out as one of those lazy days in Carson City, where it’s not too hot, but it’s not too cold!

It’s just right!

But, when the mercury begins to creep into the triple digits, I am glad I take advantage of the cooler temperatures early in the summer season, because I hate to cook on my patio when it is 100 degrees in the shade!

This is the reason I go straight to my favorite BBQ restaurant for my semi-annual feasting of pork ribs, with corn bread, cole slaw and beans, coupled with my favorite adult libation.

Korean War Vet Kicked To Street

To the editor:
Sheriff's deputies will enforce a lock-down (forced eviction) on 84 year old decorated Korean War Veteran, Rick Ostler early Friday, June 27.

Although Ostler has his rent paid through July 31, the Terrace Apartment management, where Ostler lives on Fifth Street in Carson City, has filed criminal misdemeanor assault charges against Ostler. To counter the allegation, Ostler submitted to and passed a lie detector test, proving, he says, contrived charges by Terrace Apt. personnel.

A Classical Conservative Speaks!

At one time, I use to be proud to call myself a conservative and a Republican. I considered myself to be a “classical conservative”, one who believes in limited government, free markets, individual liberty, a strong national defense, and firmly believed that the role of government should be to provide people the freedom necessary to pursue their own goals, and the placement of the individual in our society above that of the collective wisdom of the government.

The brilliance of classical conservatism is, and still remains, in its simplicity.

Come Be a Part of Continuing the Legacy of Two Community Leaders

Event Date: 
June 18, 2014 - 5:30pm

There is no one in this world that is going to get out alive, and every now and then we are hit in the gut with this reality.

In this last week we have lost two public figures: Eugene Paslov and Marv Texiera, who with their passion and enthusiasm for what they believed in, made a difference in our community.

What Is Common Core, and Who Cares?

What is Common Core (CC) and why should you care?

Its proponents say CC is merely a set of standards for kindergarten through twelfth-grade education developed by disinterested and public-spirited experts at the request of the nation’s governors and state school superintendents.

Ron Knecht for State Controller in Nevada primary

To the Editor: The Nevada primary elections are very close and I’d like to say a word about Ron Knecht.
Ron is running for the Office of State Controller. The Controller has a detailed and serious position: to ensure that the state’s funds are spent as intended and to audit the auditors.

I’ve known Ron for a number of years, and I’ve never seen anyone challenge his integrity or his character. Ron has been endorsed by the Nevada Republican Party, the Republican Assembly, the NRA and others.

Ron is against common core and stands for the tax payer. He is as conservative a man as I know.

Nevada peace officers association president opposes legislation for bigger trucks

As president of the Peace Officers Association of Nevada, I speak on behalf of 36 Nevada law enforcement associations and more than 1,500 law enforcement officers and members — and none of my members wants additional semi-trailer truck configurations unleashed onto Nevada highways.

Unfortunately, though, legislation in Congress is currently being debated that would allow heavier trucks in three states. Not only would this bill run counter to the position held by the Nevada law enforcement community that bigger trucks threaten highway safety, it would fly in the face of common sense.

The Rest of the Story

The Rest of the Story

This in reply to Mr. James O. Hartman’s letter to the editor in the May 21st issue of the RC. Mr. Hartman, I will address you in the first person in this reply. Facts are stubborn things.

Let me be clear that I draw a parallel to your reporting in the RC opinion page with what in the 30’s was called yellow journalism. Use of the journalism in the same sentence with your name does a disservice to journalists everywhere even those in the mainstream.

In your article:

"21,000 Copy Investigation Charade"

For those who are not familiar with the 21,000 copy investigation by Moss Adams:

I was involved and here is the recap.

An anonymous employee of Carson City contacted Fraud, Waste and Abuse Hotline to report the following:

"In January 2014 on two different occasions [Jim Shirk] made 2,000 copies on a City copy machine and on another occasion [Jim Shirk] made 17,000 in one single day, on a City copy machine".

These accusations made against me were completely false and I knew the truth and I knew it would be discovered.

Support for P.K. O'Neill

The purpose of my letter is to express my hearty support for PK O’Neill. I have personally vetted both Republican candidates for the Assembly seat in Assembly District 40. Of the two, Mr. O’Neill responded to my questions promptly and gave answers that convince me he is the stronger candidate in standing for the rights of Nevadans.
Equally important as his answers was the fact that he took the time to discuss the issues, and in doing so, showed his willingness to truly serve the people. My vote is for PK!

The CONSERVATIVE message is WINNING

The CONSERVATIVE message is WINNING

RINO after RINO are running ads on radio and TV and mailing out literature claiming THEY are the “real” Republicans, THEY are the “real” CONSERVATIVES. The establishment is again having to realize they must run as conservatives if they're to have a chance.

Did Rollie Die in Vain?

Last year's callous, unnecessary killing of Rollie, the tiny pet dog, at the city animal shelter justifiably ignited community outrage. This one event resulted in a $41,000 settlement to Rollie's owner for the wrongful death of her dog, paid, of course, by Carson's residents and business owners. The terminated animal shelter manager, under whose watch Rollie died, is suing city taxpayers for wrongful discharge from her position.

Cliven Bundy And His Followers Are Not Patriots!

Event Date: 
December 27, 2013 (All day)

I am always amused by those individuals who attach themselves to the United States Constitution in such a way as to be literal in its interpretation, wrap themselves in the Flag of our Nation, and call themselves “true patriots” and the defenders of our “rights and liberties”.

Apparently, if I disagree with their definition of “true patriotism” then I am something less than a citizen or patriot incapable of defending our “rights and liberties”.

Perception of The Greenhouse Project

I received an e-mail that asked why the non-profit Greenhouse Project (TGP) could sell mushrooms to Adele's Cafe (Adele's Facebook posting March 22nd). Supervisor Abowd is founder and president of TGP and co-owner with her husband Charlie of Adele's Cafe. The e-mail question and response follow.

Investigate the Bundy Ranch Incident

The following is 200 words, precisely at the limit for a letter to the editor of a newspaper. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO USE IT.

Dear Governor,
US Senators and Congressmen,
State Senators and Assemblymen,

Please launch a full investigation of the Bundy Ranch incident last week.

The Greens’ Peak-Oil Limits-to-Growth Apocalypse That Wasn’t

A few years ago, some experts predicted the world was about to reach a peak in global oil and gas production to be followed soon by marked decline. It would cause “war, famine, pestilence and death” – the biblical Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

Another version: “war, starvation, economic recession, possibly even the extinction of homo sapiens.”

Why Protest Common Core On April 5

On Saturday April 5 at 11AM there will be a demonstration against Common Core in front of the Legislature Building on Carson Street between 4th and 5th Streets. It s part of a simultaneous multi-state effort.

http://www.carsonnow.org/reader-content/03/26/2014/protest-against-commo...
http://www.pr.com/press-release/550272

To understand why it is very important for everyone to come to this event, please consider the following.

Apocalypse now: population bomb to global warming

“The battle to feed all of humanity is over. In the 1970s, the world will undergo famines – hundreds of millions of people are going to starve to death …”

So began The Population Bomb, a 1968 advocacy book by Dr. Paul Ehrlich. He indicted American affluence and uncontrolled procreation as key parts of the over-population apocalypse he foresaw and thus as pernicious problems to be solved by Draconian public-sector and even international action.

Carson City Republic Central Committee vetting designed to find candidates who meet CCRCC values

The Carson City Republican Central Committee (CCRCC) is an organization of local citizens interested in participating in and promoting Carson City Republican Party values and it's candidates for public office.

The membership meets monthly on the fourth Thursday of the month at the Silver State Charter High School. Anyone can attend these meetings and can, as a registered Republican, become a member of the CCRCC. It is an excellent venue to learn the views of local candidates and public office holders as well as share with them your views.

Nevada Assembly Seat 40 candidate Jed Block rejects Republican Party’s vetting committee

On Tuesday, March 25th, Jed Block, Republican candidate for Assembly District 40, sent the following statement to the Vetting Committee of the Carson City Republican Central Committee. Assembly District 40 encompasses Carson City and portions of Washoe County:

"In Carson City, a recently created, secret Republican Vetting Committee informed me – as an announced Republican candidate for AD 40 – when to appear before them. The closed meeting may not even be observed without an invitation.

Ideological ...Purity?

Consider that in the Republican Party there has been a sometimes rancorous, sometimes healthy, sometimes divisive debate between conservatives, moderates, progressives, libertarians, evangelicals, social conservatives / fiscal liberals, social liberals / fiscal conservatives, "me too but slower" socialists, big-government competent managers of the welfare state, the TEA Party, Ron Paul supporters, limited-government constitutionalists, etc. , at least since the Goldwater-Rockefeller showdown in 1964.

Open Letter To Gov. Sandoval RE: Common Core

Dear Governor,

There is no reason why YOU should feel any attachment to Common Core (CCSS). It was an "Every Child Left Behind" and a "Race To The Bottom" application, initiated by the former school chief and revised by the former Governor, which committed Nevada to adopt CCSS. The Legislature followed with bills in 2011 and 2013, none of which specified CCSS. It was the bureaucracy that chose to do that. The NRS, and bills such as AB288, only call for new standards and tests, without ever mentioning or unambiguously prescribing CCSS or SBAC.

The Quest for Ideological Purity - The Arrogance of the Carson City Republican Party

My compliments to Jed Block, Republican candidate for the Assembly 40th District, and his courage to reject the attempt by a small coterie of self-righteous, self-anointed, pseudo-intellectual purists of the Carson City Republican Party.

Block was informed when and where he should appear before the “recently created secret Republican Vetting Committee” so it members could decide whether the party should support his candidacy.” (See Nevada Appeal, March 26th.)

Dream, work, achieve: a story for our children

Nevada has some amazing people. This is a story about one of them, Dr. Thomas Schwenk, Dean of Nevada’s medical school – a story he tells to inspire beginning medical students and others.

Thirty years ago, after completing their medical residencies, Schwenk and a partner opened an office in a small northern Utah town. They were the only physicians in a large area, the closest hospital was an hour away, and even helicopter transport took time to arrange.

Debating state of our state song

If you live in Reno and are over 80, you may think "Home Means Nevada" is a stirring song.

But many people in the rest of Nevada, especially in Southern Nevada — with three-fourths of the state's population — never have seen the Truckee River, which runs from Lake Tahoe down through Reno. And unless the dictionary is your favorite book, you won't know a rill from a thrill.

Nevada and WNC’s gift to nation, the dead and our vets

“Four thousand faces of American military who had perished in Iraq stared at me,” said former Western Nevada College professor Don Carlson. “I realized that this war has been perhaps one of the most impersonal wars the U.S. ever fought.”

In 2008, the army veteran saw a Roster of the Dead, then totaling 4,000. He explains that with the all-volunteer military, more than in any previous war, the Iraq and Afghanistan wars have been remote to the vast majority of Americans. Impersonal.

Downtown responses to the 1/8th cent tax and plans to move forward

I asked several downtown people what they think or feel about the passing of the 1/8th cent sales tax and what they see for Carson City’s future. The feelings are mixed, but the hope for an improved Carson City are united, the methods on how to do it have been up for discussion for many years and will be for many years to come.

Will Carson City businesses get free money?

Today Lori Bagwell pointed to the Plan of Expenditure at the Board of Supervisors meeting and asked for clarification before the Board took its final vote on the 8th of a cent sales tax increase.

Fuji Park and Bailey Fishing Pond will suffer

We were relieved to read that not all tribal members are supporting the proposed motocross track on the Washoe Tribe’s land. It gave us hope that the Washoe people really do believe in their statement that “the Washoe Tribe have long considered themselves stewards of our land and continue to maintain that position, never to compromise or sacrifice our environmental and archeologically sensitive lands.”

In our opinion the development of a motocross track in the proposed location would be a complete contradiction to this statement.

Empire Ranch Golf Course

View the Board of Supervisors meeting from December 5, 2013 at: www.accesscarsoncity.org or below. You will want to view Part 1 of the December 5th meeting starting at 2:35:00.

In this video recording, staff will first present the history of contractual obligation between the golf course and the City.

Staff will proceed to discuss other alternatives how the City may discharge the waste water from our sewer treatment plant, followed by how the City could possibly purchase the property.

Roger Hedgecock - Is this the best you can do?

“The Carson City Republican Central Committee, is hosting a program with Roger Hedgecock. You are invited to attend in room 3100 at the Nevada State Legislature on Saturday, March 8, 2014 from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Roger Allan Hedgecock, is a conservative talk radio host and former mayor of San Diego, California. His show is syndicated by Radio America.”

Submitted to Carson Now by Carol Howell
.
Here is what Ms, Howell did not state in the spirit of “transparency” which now has become the new “buzzword” in American and Nevada Politics!

Carson City Supervisor Brad Bonkowski addresses Empire Ranch Golf Course issue

There is a lot of misinformation circulating regarding Carson City’s possible future involvement with the Empire Ranch Golf Course. I have heard and read many inaccurate statements regarding what actions, if any, the city might take in regards to the course. I want to help clear that up, and address the facts as I understand them.

Syndicate content