St. Mary’s Art Center is celebrating a remarkable milestone in 2026 as the historic Virginia City landmark marks 150 years of history, community and creativity on the Comstock.
“As we mark the 150th anniversary of the St. Mary Louise Hospital property of which we have been stewards and worked diligently to preserve, it is a moment for reflection on the rich history of the Comstock and the essential role St. Mary’s has played in our community,” stated A. Perry, executive director of St. Mary’s Art Center. “The Art Center continues its dedication to preservation while fostering artistic expression, excellence, and cultural engagement across Northern Nevada since 1964.”
Marie Louise Mackay, wife of Comstock mining magnate John Mackay, purchased the land and donated it to the St. Mary in the Mountains Church, following the death of the previous owner, General Jacob Van Bokkelen. The Daughters of Charity then built and operated St. Marie Louise Hospital (also known as St. Mary Louise Hospital), opening in 1876 during the height of the Comstock mining boom until 1897.
When the Comstock population began to decline, the hospital was then purchased by Storey County in 1899, which ran it as Storey County Hospital until 1942. In 1964, after years of vacancy, the building was leased by Father Paul Meinecke and Virginia City artist Louise Curran, who then established it as St. Mary’s Art Center.

What once housed patients became a creative retreat where artists gathered to learn, teach and create. Early workshops attracted painters and students from across the West, helping establish Virginia City as a center for artistic exchange.
Today, St. Mary’s Art Center continues that tradition as the longest operating 501(c)(3) nonprofit in Storey County, hosting art exhibitions, artist receptions, workshops, community events and children’s art programs throughout the year.
The historic property also offers fine art exhibitions, artist retreats, workshops and special event rentals, featuring 15 guest rooms and shared creative spaces that make it a unique destination on the Comstock.
Celebrating this 150th anniversary, St. Mary’s Art Center is committed to its mission of nurturing artists, strengthening regional cultural programs and preserving Virginia City’s artistic and historical legacy. The center has several upcoming events, including a Paranormal Painting Pajama Party, Easter Egg Hunt and Art in the Studio, Art and Cocktails class and An Intimate Fourth of July Spectacular celebration. To mark this significant milestone, St. Mary’s Art Center is launching the “St. Mary’s 150” campaign, echoing the spirit of the America 250 initiative.
This campaign aims to highlight this Storey County owned building’s historical importance, increase visibility for St. Mary’s Art Center events and provide educational opportunities in art and culture through retreats and workshops.
For more information about upcoming events and exhibitions, visit stmarysartcenter.org.
